Pocket Review: Julie & Julia

Julie & Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen

Julie-and-Julia.jpgThis is a refreshing memoir about discovery, possibility, and ineffable amounts of butter. The book was a light read, though I often found myself tearing up and staring into the open spaces of my life with the subtle yet incisive wisdom of her words.

At some point, the rest of us will have bouts of frustration and envy, left with the tingling buzz of a thought: I wish I could do that. Create and commit to a project as if your life depended on it. Even if you have to butcher ducks and murder crustaceans. It can get bloody. Then again, that is the beauty of the book: The revelation that quietly arrives to the threshold of our knowing. We taste with caution, swallow without fear, and allow the reawakening of our senses.

Julie Powell’s latest memoir Cleaving: A Story of Marriage, Meat, and Obsession is due for release on December 1, 2009.

This entry was posted in Books, Pocket Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pocket Review: Julie & Julia

  1. Diana says:

    Your blog so refreshing, and definitely an interesting read during another boring day at work! Your review made me feel like reading the book, just to get an epiphany of some sort…

    Ahh… life… what are we to do…

  2. Roncobilaccio says:

    should I say something about another one?
    “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”, Stieg Larsson; this book saved my august ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • stoneandstar says:

      Ah yes! Heard about that book–I’ve included it in my stack of books to read. I’m currently reading Ha-Jin’s “A Free Life”. A fascinating read!

Leave a Reply

